Home / CDL schools / Louisiana / Lafayette
CDL schools in Lafayette, Louisiana
1 school in Lafayette is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Lafayette on Louisiana's approved training list runs $5,100 to $5,650, with a $5,495 median across 3 programs. Truck drivers in the Lafayette, LA area earn a median $49,450 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Louisiana training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Lafayette; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because Louisiana's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
Lafayette training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Lafayette, LA area; 2,920 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Lafayette
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 9 active registrants in Lafayette: 7 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 2 tick "open to the public" but are not schools that take students: 2 employers and carriers training their own drivers.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| College/Lafayette 1101 Bertrand Dr | Theory · range · road | 2025-12-16 | not posted | Class B, Hazmat | 337-523-6123 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Louisiana's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Lafayette
| School | City | Miles from Lafayette | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coastal Truck Driving School | Opelousas, LA | 15 | 2024-01-18 | $5,495 |
| SLCC New Iberia | New Iberia, LA | 17 | 2025-11-13 | not posted |
| College/abbeville | Abbeville, LA | 17 | 2025-12-16 | not posted |
| SLCC/Crowley | Crowley, LA | 20 | 2026-08-20 | not posted |
| SLCC/Opelousas | Opelousas, LA | 22 | 2025-12-16 | not posted |
| J and L CDL Service LLC | Opelousas, LA | 22 | 2026-04-06 | not posted |
| East End Driving and Placement Service LLC | Opelousas, LA | 24 | 2025-11-05 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Lafayette's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Lafayette
3 programs nearest Lafayette posted tuition to Louisiana's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 3 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Louisiana Community College | CDL Class A or B Training | Lafayette, LA | 0 | $5,650 | $0 | 100% | 78% |
| Advanced Truck Driving School & Safety Services, LLC | Class A CDL Entry-Level Truck Driving Course | New Iberia, LA | 21 | $5,100 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Coastal College Truck Driving-Lafayette | Truck Driver Training Class A | Opelousas, LA | 21 | $5,495 | $250 | 93% | 72% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Louisiana's permit and license fees are not confirmed on its DMV pages, so none are shown.
Free and company-paid training near Lafayette
A Louisiana workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Louisiana sites. Louisiana terms · all carriers
Check a Lafayette school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 3 Lafayette providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 147 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 123,311 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Lafayette?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $5,100 to $5,650, median $5,495. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Lafayette?
1 location is registered in Lafayette for Class A training, and 8 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Lafayette school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Lafayette
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Lafayette. All Louisiana cities