Home / CDL schools / Texas / Abilene
CDL schools in Abilene, Texas
2 schools in Abilene are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Abilene on Texas's approved training list runs $4,500 to $9,644, with a $7,072 median across 2 programs. Truck drivers in the Abilene, TX area earn a median $54,720 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Texas training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Abilene; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Texas permit ($25) and CDL ($97). Medical exam extra.
Abilene training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Abilene, TX area; 1,090 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Abilene
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 6 active registrants in Abilene: 5 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 school district or public school program.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas State Technical College (A) 650 E Hwy 80 | Theory · range · road | 2026-03-25 | $4,500 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 325-738-3332 |
| Action Career Training 598 Westwood, ste. 204 | Theory · range · road | 2022-02-15 | $9,644 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 325-677-2444 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Texas's training list.
What CDL school costs in Abilene
2 programs in Abilene posted tuition to Texas's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 2 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas State Technical College Abilene | Professional Truck Driving Certification | $4,500 | $247 | not reported | not reported |
| Action Career Training | Truck Driver Development | $9,644 | $75 | 97% | 79% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Texas fees: commercial learner permit $25, class a license (8 years) $97 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Abilene
A Texas workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Texas sites. Texas terms · all carriers
Check a Abilene school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 6 Abilene providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 94 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 131,588 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Abilene?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $4,500 to $9,644, median $7,072. With Texas's permit and license, about $7,194 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Abilene?
2 locations are registered in Abilene for Class A training, and 2 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Abilene school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Abilene
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Abilene. All Texas cities