Home / CDL schools / Ohio / Chesapeake
CDL schools in Chesapeake, Ohio
1 school in Chesapeake is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. The one program within 25 miles of Chesapeake on Ohio's approved training list posts $4,000 tuition. Truck drivers in the Huntington-Ashland, WV-KY-OH area earn a median $50,050 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Ohio training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Chesapeake; none teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Ohio permit ($32) and CDL ($47). Medical exam extra.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Chesapeake.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Huntington-Ashland, WV-KY-OH area; 2,330 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Chesapeake
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 1 active registrant in Chesapeake: 1 is private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Collins Career Technical Center 11627 Oh-243 | Part of Class A | 2026-01-06 | not posted | Class B | 740-867-6641 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Ohio's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Chesapeake
| School | City | Miles from Chesapeake | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Collins Career Technical Center | South Point, OH | 7 | 2026-01-07 | not posted |
| Actc | Grayson, KY | 12 | 2026-06-29 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Chesapeake's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Chesapeake
1 program nearest Chesapeake posted tuition to Ohio's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers the one program within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kentucky Community & Technical College System | CDL Class A Program | Ashland, KY | 10 | $4,000 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Ohio fees: commercial learner permit $32, skills test $50, class a license (4 years) $47 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Chesapeake
A Ohio workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Ohio sites. Ohio terms · all carriers
Check a Chesapeake school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Chesapeake. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 13 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 719 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Chesapeake?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $4,000, median $4,000. With Ohio's permit and license, about $4,078 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Chesapeake?
1 location is registered in Chesapeake for Class A training, and 3 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Chesapeake school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Chesapeake
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Chesapeake. Also within 35 miles: Gallipolis, OH (1). All Ohio cities