Home / CDL schools / Nevada / Carson City
CDL schools in Carson City, Nevada
2 schools in Carson City are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Carson City on Nevada's approved training list runs $1,750 to $4,900, with a $3,855 median across 6 programs. Truck drivers in the Carson City, NV area earn a median $60,480 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Nevada training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Carson City; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Nevada permit ($142) and CDL ($142). Medical exam extra.
Carson City training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Carson City, NV area; 130 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Carson City
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 6 active registrants in Carson City: 6 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 Driving Academy - Reno 4962 East Highway 50 | Part of Class A | 2026-09-18 | not posted | Class A only | not listed |
| Western Nevada College 2201 W College Pkwy | Theory · range · road | 2025-01-22 | $4,900 | Hazmat | 775-445-4210 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Nevada's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Carson City
| School | City | Miles from Carson City | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Desert Knight CDL School | Sparks, NV | 11 | 2026-03-23 | $1,750 |
| Nevada Desert Truck Driving School | Reno, NV | 13 | 2026-06-16 | not posted |
| 160 Driving Academy | Reno, NV | 14 | 2026-09-18 | $4,495 |
| D's Trucking School LLC | Minden, NV | 25 | 2025-06-11 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Carson City's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Carson City
6 programs nearest Carson City posted tuition to Nevada's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 6 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Western Nevada College | Commercial Driver Training Program | Carson City, NV | 0 | $4,900 | $168 | 83% | not reported |
| 160 Driving Academy (Rock Gate Capital) | Class A CDL Training Program | Reno, NV | 7 | $4,495 | $295 | 81% | 34% |
| Desert Knight CDL School | CDL Refresher Course | Sparks, NV | 12 | $2,800 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Desert Knight CDL School | CDL Training Class A | Sparks, NV | 12 | $4,500 | $0 | 72% | 80% |
| Nevada Desert Truck Driving School | Class A CDL Truck Driving | Reno, NV | 12 | $3,215 | $0 | 70% | 67% |
| Nevada Desert Truck Driving School | CDL Refresher Course | Reno, NV | 12 | $1,750 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Nevada fees: commercial learner permit $142, skills test $30, class a license $142 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Carson City
A Nevada workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Nevada sites. Nevada terms · all carriers
Check a Carson City school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 12 Carson City providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 60 for-hire trucking companies are based here.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Carson City?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,750 to $4,900, median $3,855. With Nevada's permit and license, about $4,138 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Carson City?
2 locations are registered in Carson City for Class A training, and 6 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Carson City school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Carson City
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Carson City. All Nevada cities