Home / CDL schools / North Carolina / Shelby

CDL schools in Shelby, North Carolina

1 school in Shelby is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Shelby on North Carolina's approved training list runs $1,999 to $4,500, with a $2,000 median across 3 programs. Truck drivers in the nonmetro part of Western North Carolina earn a median $49,460 a year.

Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · North Carolina training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)

1

Class A school open to the public in Shelby; 1 teaches theory, range and road.

$2,051

Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the North Carolina permit ($26) and CDL ($26). Medical exam extra.

1

Shelby training provider FMCSA has removed from the registry, involuntarily.

$49,460

Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the nonmetro part of Western North Carolina; 3,840 work there.

Every registered Class A school in Shelby

Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 4 active registrants in Shelby: 4 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).

SchoolClass A trainingRegistry updatedPosted tuitionAlso teachesPhone
Cleveland Community College
831 North Post Road
Theory · range · road 2026-04-17 not posted Class B 704-669-4049

Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on North Carolina's training list.

Schools within 25 miles of Shelby

SchoolCityMiles from ShelbyRegistry updatedPosted tuition
Road Knowledge Training AcademyGastonia, NC192026-06-04not posted
Neely Shaw CDL's, LLCGaffney, SC202026-09-29not posted
Isothermal Community CollegeSpindale, NC242025-09-15$2,000

Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Shelby's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.

What CDL school costs in Shelby

3 programs nearest Shelby posted tuition to North Carolina's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 3 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.

ProgramCourseCityMilesTuitionSuppliesFinishedWorking 6 months later
Gaston College Truck Driver Training Dallas, NC 18 $1,999 $327 86% 100%
Transenergy CDL Academy Transenergy CDL Academy Gastonia, NC 18 $4,500 $318 81% 53%
Isothermal Community College Truck Driving Spindale, NC 25 $2,000 $0 not reported not reported

Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.

North Carolina fees: commercial learner permit $26, class a license $26 (DMV, October 5, 2026).

Free and company-paid training near Shelby

A North Carolina workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list North Carolina sites. North Carolina terms · all carriers

Check a Shelby school before you pay

FMCSA has removed 1 Shelby provider from the registry, involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 79 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 23,309 people.

Questions people ask

How much is CDL school in Shelby?

Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,999 to $4,500, median $2,000. With North Carolina's permit and license, about $2,051 before the medical exam.

How many CDL schools are in Shelby?

1 location is registered in Shelby for Class A training, and 4 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.

Can a Shelby school with an old registry record still train me?

Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.

CDL schools near Shelby

Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Shelby. All North Carolina cities