Home / CDL schools / North Carolina / Polkton
CDL schools in Polkton, North Carolina
1 school in Polkton is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Polkton on North Carolina's approved training list runs $1,881 to $5,000, with a $4,200 median across 3 programs. Truck drivers in the Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC area earn a median $56,120 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · North Carolina training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Polkton; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the North Carolina permit ($26) and CDL ($26). Medical exam extra.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Polkton.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC area; 18,700 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Polkton
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out no active registrants in Polkton.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Piedmont Community College 680 US Highway 74 W | Theory · range · road | 2024-05-22 | not posted | Class B, Hazmat | 704-290-5100 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on North Carolina's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Polkton
| School | City | Miles from Polkton | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northeastern Technical College | Cheraw, SC | 20 | 2022-07-29 | $5,000 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Polkton's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Polkton
3 programs nearest Polkton posted tuition to North Carolina's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 3 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ford Transportation Academy | Truck Driving | Mount Gilead, NC | 17 | $4,200 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Northeastern Technical College | Commercial Transportation -CDL - Truck Driver Ce | Cheraw, SC | 22 | $5,000 | $0 | 93% | 100% |
| Richmond Community College | CDL | Hamlet, NC | 22 | $1,881 | $358 | 91% | 18% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
North Carolina fees: commercial learner permit $26, class a license $26 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Polkton
A North Carolina workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list North Carolina sites. North Carolina terms · all carriers
Check a Polkton school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Polkton. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 14 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 1,722 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Polkton?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,881 to $5,000, median $4,200. With North Carolina's permit and license, about $4,251 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Polkton?
1 location is registered in Polkton for Class A training, and 2 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Polkton school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Polkton
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Polkton. All North Carolina cities