Home / CDL schools / Alabama / Sumiton
CDL schools in Sumiton, Alabama
1 school in Sumiton is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Sumiton on Alabama's approved training list runs $1,566 to $4,098, with a $3,750 median across 4 programs. Truck drivers in the Birmingham, AL area earn a median $54,460 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Alabama training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Sumiton; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Alabama permit ($36) and CDL ($66). Medical exam extra.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Sumiton.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Birmingham, AL area; 9,170 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Sumiton
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 1 active registrant in Sumiton: 1 is private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bevill State Community College 117 117 Main Street | Theory · range · road | 2024-08-20 | $1,566 | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 205-648-3271 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Alabama's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Sumiton
| School | City | Miles from Sumiton | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kla Trucking School | Birmingham, AL | 22 | 2024-12-03 | not posted |
| ACE CDL Driver Training Institute | Birmingham, AL | 23 | 2024-09-13 | $4,000 |
| 160 Driving Academy | Birmingham, AL | 23 | 2026-09-18 | $4,098 |
| SAV School of Trucking LLC | Hueytown, AL | 24 | 2024-06-11 | not posted |
| One Stop CDL Training Program | Bessemer, AL | 24 | 2025-01-07 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Sumiton's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Sumiton
4 programs nearest Sumiton posted tuition to Alabama's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 4 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bevill State Community College | Truck Driving | Sumiton, AL | 0 | $1,566 | $299 | 99% | 13% |
| Jefferson State Community College | Commercial Truck Driver (CDL) Training | Birmingham, AL | 22 | $3,500 | $627 | 91% | not reported |
| ACECDL Driver Training Institute | Ace CDL Driving Training | Birmingham, AL | 22 | $4,000 | $500 | 100% | not reported |
| 160 Driving Academy - Birmingham | Class A Commercial Drivers License (CDL) Training | Birmingham, AL | 23 | $4,098 | $277 | 94% | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Alabama fees: commercial learner permit $36, skills test $20, class a license $66 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Sumiton
A Alabama workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Alabama sites. Alabama terms · all carriers
Check a Sumiton school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Sumiton. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 2 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 2,511 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Sumiton?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,566 to $4,098, median $3,750. With Alabama's permit and license, about $3,853 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Sumiton?
1 location is registered in Sumiton for Class A training, and 6 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Sumiton school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Sumiton
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Sumiton. Also within 35 miles: Double Springs, AL (1). All Alabama cities