Home / CDL schools / Alabama / Bessemer
CDL schools in Bessemer, Alabama
3 schools in Bessemer are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Bessemer on Alabama's approved training list runs $1,566 to $7,495, with a $4,000 median across 5 programs. Truck drivers in the Birmingham, AL area earn a median $54,460 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Alabama training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Bessemer; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Alabama permit ($36) and CDL ($66). Medical exam extra.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Bessemer.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Birmingham, AL area; 9,170 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Bessemer
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 8 active registrants in Bessemer: 6 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 2 tick "open to the public" but are not schools that take students: 2 employers and carriers training their own drivers.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roadmaster Drivers School (BIR) 2570 Five Star Parkway | Part of Class A | 2025-12-18 | $7,495 | Class A only | 800-831-1300 |
| One Stop CDL Training Program 3800 Bessemer Super Hwy | Theory · range · road | 2025-01-07 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 205-729-4200 |
| Lawson State Community College 1100 9th Ave SW | Theory · range · road | 2023-05-11 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 205-925-2515 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Alabama's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Bessemer
| School | City | Miles from Bessemer | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAV School of Trucking LLC | Hueytown, AL | 2 | 2024-06-11 | not posted |
| Kla Trucking School | Birmingham, AL | 12 | 2024-12-03 | not posted |
| ACE CDL Driver Training Institute | Birmingham, AL | 13 | 2024-09-13 | $4,000 |
| 160 Driving Academy | Birmingham, AL | 14 | 2026-09-18 | $4,098 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Bessemer's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Bessemer
5 programs nearest Bessemer posted tuition to Alabama's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 5 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Career Path Training dba Roadmaster Drivers School | Commercial Truck Driver Training | Bessemer, AL | 0 | $7,495 | $200 | 70% | not reported |
| ACECDL Driver Training Institute | Ace CDL Driving Training | Birmingham, AL | 13 | $4,000 | $500 | 100% | not reported |
| 160 Driving Academy - Birmingham | Class A Commercial Drivers License (CDL) Training | Birmingham, AL | 14 | $4,098 | $277 | 94% | not reported |
| Jefferson State Community College | Commercial Truck Driver (CDL) Training | Birmingham, AL | 24 | $3,500 | $627 | 91% | not reported |
| Bevill State Community College | Truck Driving | Sumiton, AL | 25 | $1,566 | $299 | 99% | 13% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Alabama fees: commercial learner permit $36, skills test $20, class a license $66 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Bessemer
A Alabama workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Alabama sites. Alabama terms · all carriers
Check a Bessemer school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Bessemer. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 87 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 24,984 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Bessemer?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,566 to $7,495, median $4,000. With Alabama's permit and license, about $4,103 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Bessemer?
3 locations are registered in Bessemer for Class A training, and 7 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Bessemer school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Bessemer
Also within 35 miles: Hueytown, AL (1); Sumiton, AL (1). All Alabama cities