Home / CDL schools / Texas / San Antonio
CDL schools in San Antonio, Texas
12 schools in San Antonio are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of San Antonio on Texas's approved training list runs $4,403 to $10,438, with a $5,600 median across 11 programs. Truck drivers in the San Antonio-New Braunfels, TX area earn a median $53,650 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Texas training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in San Antonio; 10 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Texas permit ($25) and CDL ($97). Medical exam extra.
San Antonio training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, 11 of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the San Antonio-New Braunfels, TX area; 13,710 work there.
Every registered Class A school in San Antonio
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 45 active registrants in San Antonio: 43 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 2 tick "open to the public" but are not schools that take students: 1 employer or carrier training their own drivers and 1 we could not classify from the registry record.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Texas Vocational Technical Institute (STVT San Antonio) (2 sites) 734 S.E. Military Drive | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-30 | $5,000 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 866-937-1850 |
| SAGE Truck Driving Schools 204 Dunton Street Bldg 3508 | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-24 | $5,195 | Class B | 866-787-4454 |
| Star CDL Training LLC 811 Springfield Road | Theory · range · road | 2026-06-23 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 210-323-0864 |
| Roadmaster Drivers School (SAN) 927 Eddie Road | Part of Class A | 2026-04-15 | $7,145 to $7,695 | Class A only | 800-831-1300 |
| Reyna CDL Driver Training 1763 S General Mcmullen Dr | Theory · range · road | 2026-03-24 | not posted | Class B | 210-521-4000 |
| Southern Careers Institute, Inc 6963 NW Loop 410 | Theory · range · road | 2026-03-03 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 210-706-1600 |
| CDL Training (Alamo Truck Driver Training SA) 4300 SE Loop | Theory · range · road | 2026-02-25 | $6,495 | Class A only | 210-648-6300 |
| First Mile CDL Driving School 10195 Somerset Rd | Part of Class A | 2025-12-23 | not posted | Class B | 210-904-5068 |
| Goodwill Clearance Center and Donation Station 7702 Ih-35 | Theory · range · road | 2024-01-23 | not posted | Class A only | 210-924-8581 |
| AAG CDL Training LLC 2514 E. Southcross Blvd #2 | Theory · range · road | 2023-10-17 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 210-724-1546 |
| Southern CDL Training 11327 S U.S Highway-181 | Theory · range · road | 2023-03-28 | not posted | Class B | 210-468-2080 |
| CDL Tutorial Center LLC (san antonio) 2203 S Hackberry St suite 117 | Theory · range · road | 2022-10-05 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 210-982-5273 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Texas's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of San Antonio
| School | City | Miles from San Antonio | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas CDL Training | Converse, TX | 7 | 2026-06-23 | not posted |
| Excel Driver Services | Converse, TX | 13 | 2026-01-02 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of San Antonio's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in San Antonio
11 programs in San Antonio posted tuition to Texas's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 11 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alamo Community College District | CDL Professional Truck Driver (CE) | $4,403 | $597 | 87% | 66% |
| Top Gun Truck Driving School LLC | Commerical Truck Driver Training (CDL) | $4,950 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| South Texas Vocational Technical Institute San Antonio | CDL Training: Class A Tractor Trailer | $5,000 | $0 | 82% | 81% |
| Sage Truck Driving School Texas LLC | Class A CDL Truck Driver Training Program | $5,195 | $695 | 97% | 67% |
| Persevere Education | Commercial Driver's License Program | $5,212 | $212 | 71% | 71% |
| Cutz Above Barber College | Class a Barber and Cross Over | $5,600 | $1,700 | not reported | not reported |
| Alamo Truck Driver Training | Truck Driver Training Program | $6,495 | $100 | 61% | 42% |
| Roadmaster Drivers School | Commercial Truck Driver Training | $7,145 | $0 | 70% | 56% |
| Roadmaster Drivers School | Commercial Truck Driver Training | $7,695 | $0 | 79% | 58% |
| Alamo Community College District | CDL Professional Truck Driver (CE) | $10,130 | $597 | 93% | 69% |
| Alamo Community College District | CDL Professional Truck Driver (CE) | $10,438 | $597 | 85% | 65% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Texas fees: commercial learner permit $25, class a license (8 years) $97 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near San Antonio
A Texas workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Texas sites. Texas terms · all carriers
Check a San Antonio school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 15 San Antonio providers from the registry, 11 of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 1,509 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 1,548,422 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in San Antonio?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $4,403 to $10,438, median $5,600. With Texas's permit and license, about $5,722 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in San Antonio?
12 locations are registered in San Antonio for Class A training, and 14 are within 25 miles of the city. 7 updated their registry record in 2026, and 4 have left it untouched for over two years.
Can a San Antonio school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near San Antonio
No other city with a page is within 35 miles.
Also within 35 miles: Converse, TX (2); Pleasanton, TX (1). All Texas cities