Home / CDL schools / Iowa / Council Bluffs
CDL schools in Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 school in Council Bluffs is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Council Bluffs on Iowa's approved training list runs $4,700 to $7,495, with a $4,975 median across 6 programs. Truck drivers in the Omaha, NE-IA area earn a median $58,010 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Iowa training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Council Bluffs; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Iowa permit ($12) and CDL ($8). Medical exam extra.
Council Bluffs training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Omaha, NE-IA area; 10,210 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Council Bluffs
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 10 active registrants in Council Bluffs: 10 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iowa Western Community College 2700 College Rd | Theory · range · road | 2024-02-22 | $4,700 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 712-325-3256 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Iowa's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Council Bluffs
| School | City | Miles from Council Bluffs | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Custom Diesel Drivers Training | Omaha, NE | 10 | 2025-02-18 | $4,800 |
| Pro-Fleet CDL Driving Academy | Omaha, NE | 13 | 2023-01-03 | $5,000 |
| Metropolitan Community College | Omaha, NE | 15 | 2025-11-05 | not posted |
| Roadmaster Drivers School (OMA) | Omaha, NE | 19 | 2025-12-04 | $7,495 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Council Bluffs's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Council Bluffs
6 programs nearest Council Bluffs posted tuition to Iowa's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 6 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iowa Western Community College | Class A CDL Truck Driving Class | Council Bluffs, IA | 0 | $4,700 | $165 | not reported | not reported |
| Rock Gate Capital, LLC (dba 160 Driving Academy) | Class A CDL Training - Licensure | Omaha, NE | 11 | $4,950 | $0 | 74% | 69% |
| Custom Diesel Drivers Training | Professional Truck Driver Training | Omaha, NE | 11 | $4,800 | $700 | 85% | 18% |
| Pro-Fleet CDL Driving Academy | Class A CDL Training | Omaha, NE | 14 | $5,000 | $1,000 | 95% | 80% |
| JTL Truck Driver Training DBA Roadmaster Drivers School | 180 hour Class A CDL Truck Driver Training course | Omaha, NE | 19 | $7,495 | $200 | 85% | 62% |
| Roadmaster Drivers School | 180 hour Class A CDL Truck Driver Training Course Licensure | Omaha, NE | 19 | $7,495 | $274 | 80% | 72% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Iowa fees: commercial learner permit $12, class a license (8 years) $8 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Council Bluffs
A Iowa workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 4 carrier programs we track list Iowa sites. Iowa terms · all carriers
Check a Council Bluffs school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 3 Council Bluffs providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 119 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 62,680 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Council Bluffs?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $4,700 to $7,495, median $4,975. With Iowa's permit and license, about $4,995 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Council Bluffs?
1 location is registered in Council Bluffs for Class A training, and 5 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Council Bluffs school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Council Bluffs
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Council Bluffs. All Iowa cities